Measure in Love.

January 23, 2011

Write it on your heart, that every day is the best day of the year. /Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

One Year.

=12 months

=52 weeks

=365 days

=8,760 hours

=525, 600 minutes

 

It’s hard for me to grasp just how many things are able happen in a matter of seconds, minutes, hours, or days.  In the shortest increment of time, there are infinite “moments” that occur.  So, what’s in a year?

So much joy.  So much pain.

Twenty-ten was no exception.  In fact, it would serve as a stellar example of the best and worst moments that life has to offer.  I witnessed the beauty of pregnancies and brand new babies, engagements and sweet weddings of people I love dearly.  Grew closer to old friends and cultivated new relationships.  Began a career of being a true “young professional”.  All sprinkled with a million moments of utter happiness and laughter with dozens of people in my life I am fortunate enough to call friends and family.

I am beginning to believe that there is a true balance to everything in life.  Looking back on the year, I without-a-doubt believe I cried just as much as I laughed.  I’m certain my heart broke an equal number of times that it jumped for joy.  I witnessed marriages end, and lent a listening ear to others whose relationships struggled and writhed in pain.  Hurt with friends whose only desire is to become pregnant.  Wept with my best friend until our t-shirts were soaked with tears, the day her father was killed…

It was a rollercoaster of emotions, those 365 days.  And then came day #366…or in my case, #9,856. 

A.K.A. my 27th birthday. 

I have nothing really exciting to report about that day in particular (sorry for the dramatic, lead-up).  However, friends and family had pointed out in advance that it was my Golden Birthday–something I had never heard of in my 26-plus years of life on this earth–but, apparently some nutty person in history had determined that this special day/year was the “lucky”one.

I imagine that this would be a really exciting year for some people… I however, am of the mindset that luck, flat-out just doesn’t exist.  I believe you’ve gotta work hard to get what you want in life (and ya gotta pray even harder!)  The combination of those two things, plus good decision making is your key to success. *cue Rocky theme*

Anyway… instead of totally blowing-off this so-called “Golden Birthday” (because, after all, there will never be another) I started tossing around the idea of blogging my golden year.  At first, I thought I’d do it for the sole purpose of documenting a period of my life, and to also use the platform as a creative outlet–writing has always been a very strong area for me, but have never pursued it as a hobby.  Plus, it would be great to look back on an entire year in a few entries and  photos.  There are so many funny and beautiful small moments in my life, and it often upsets me that I forget them so easily.  It wasn’t a bad idea, but knowing myself well enough to recognize my short attention span, I figured the singular task of documenting just for the sake of documenting wouldn’t retain my interest for the entire duration of a year.  I needed something that would require a little accountability.  I thought, next, about New Years Resolutions…and quickly resolved not to make any.  Soon after, though, came the idea of a bucket-list-of-sorts.  Bingo….small doses of the life of “L” plus:

“27 Things I Must Do While I’m 27” 

(FYI… that’s a lot of “things” and I’m still soliciting for suggestions!)

and tah-dah, a blog is born.

 

I look forward to everything this year will bring.  The unknown is frightening, but there’s so much that is gained in both the joy and the pain.  Definitely personal growth.  And without a doubt, that common thread that binds the good and the bad together: LOVE….  nothin’ better to give or receive.

So, I invite you, dear friends to follow me as I skip and stumble through another year…OR, even better- join me in one of my little 27 adventures and your face just might end up on this sparkly page!  C’mon, I dare ya :)       xoxox/L

Read “About 27&Golden” here!

525, 600 minutes

=8,760 hours

=365 days

=52 weeks

=12 months

=One Year.

 

Leave a Reply

