Drumroll, please…

January 27, 2011

To think too long about doing a thing often becomes its undoing.  /Eva Young

Well, here I am, exactly one month into my golden year, and just now getting around to THE list.  Coming up with 27 things to accomplish this year was far more difficult than I thought it would be.  For goodness sake, I have more than 27 items on any given day’s to-do list at the office, but for some reason when it comes to making plans for an entire year I get a little nervous and start making excuses.  Granted, there were some boundaries to work within…I mean, jumping on a plane to New Zealand, or even Seattle would be incredible, but not too realistic at the moment.  Speaking of planes….I got some pretty crazy “list” suggestions from my friends as well, like skydiving and bungee jumping.  Seriously, I know it’s at the top of most people’s list of things to do before they (_fill in the blank_), but I am about as far from an adrenaline junkie as you can get.  I have to admit, my list might appear a little dull to those of you who were expecting me to bail out of a perfectly good airplane or repel down the side of a high-rise…it’s just not gonna happen.  However, I can guarantee you that as clumsy as I am, there is great potential for a little danger in a few of my to-dos.  

I think I have been most surprised so far by the number of marriage and/or relationship-related comments and suggestions I’ve received regarding my Blog/List.  Anything from an idea suggesting that I specifically, marry a musician to people placing bets (yes, plural) that I’ll be married by the time my golden year’s over.  Not to mention, I’m nearly certain that my adorable best friend is confusing my life with that of the protagonist in a romantic comedy.  It’s interesting to me how often it’s one of the first things people inquire-or if they already know me, comment- about.  While the title “27 and Single” or “27 Blind dates” probably would have dramatically  increased my likelihood of being picked-up for a reality show, snaggin’ some bling for my left ring finger didn’t make the cut either. 

But, it will be okay, dear friends.  I’ve already begun writing a stack of formal apologies for the disappointment that’s causing so many of you :)

But, just for clarification…I’m not against the idea either. 

But, back to the list….

(Another one of my BFFs says I say ‘but’ too much)  But, anyway…

As far as the Golden goals go, I feel I have selected a pretty cute little variety….yes, “cute”.  And “pretty” too.  There’s nothing extravagant.  A few new skills.  A couple service projects (term used rather loosely).  Places I’ve never been.  Conquering a fear…  I think it’s the perfect balance between challenging and purposeful.  So, without further ado, here’s my Golden List of 27 To-Dos While 27:

1. Go horseback riding

I’ve never been.  And horses are awesome.

2.  Read the Bible cover to cover

Even though I go to church every Sunday and attended semi-regularly as a child, I am seriously lacking in Biblical knowledge. 

3.  Learn Spanish

I don’t expect to be fluent in a year or anything, but basic conversation dialogue is what I’m aiming for.

4.  Get a tattoo

Ohhhhh, controversy.  Love ’em or loathe ’em…it’ll be pretty.  Don’t hate.

5.  Get a passport

First step to ever traveling outside this lovely country.  I’ve got my heart on Greece.

6.  See a movie at the theater by myself.

I do pretty much everything alone, and don’t typically think twice about it…it’s the single lifestyle.  But, this and eating in a restaurant have always been two things that I thought were odd to do alone.  I figured this was the least weird of the two…

7.  Visit the Oklahoma Aquarium in Jenks

It’s been open for nearly 8 years, and I pass it at least once a month on the way to Tulsa.  Why have I waited 8 years?? 

8.  Travel to see a favorite musician on tour.

Everyone should do this at least once a year, dontcha think?

9.  Create at least one piece of art each month

This is a huge part of “me” that’s been on the back burner for far too long. I’ll be giving away each piece I create at the end of every month.  For free…depending on how out of practice I am, this could be a swingin’ deal or highway robbery. 

10.  Camp out…like, in a tent.

Never been.  I could care less where I sleep as long as it’s not too warm, but I admittedly, have issues with doing my “business” behind a tree.  

11.  Memorize a poem

Keats?  Frost?  Silverstein??  Why not.

12.  Give $100 to a complete stranger

I don’t view my money as really being “mine”.  Plus, who wouldn’t have a good day if they were given a crisp Ben Franklin?

13.  Try a new restaurant once a month

I love food.

14.  Plan, cook, and share a meal for a friend/group once a month

I love food.  And I am a really good cook.

15.  Learn how to drive a standard

I came pretty close to purchasing a Mini Cooper last year without ever having driven a stick shift.  Not my brightest moment.

 16.  Build something….out of wood?

Yeah.  Like, with power tools and nails and other things I don’t know the names of.

17.  Submit a postcard to PostSecret

I may even let you in on what it is I plan to confess…or not.  Oooh, the suspense!

18.  Learn how to hold and shoot a gun 

I’m the least excited about this.  In fact, I really don’t even want to do this.  I would go as far as to say that I’m anti-gun, but it’s not really a fair position to hold unless I understand them a little better.

19. Run a 5K

We’ll see how my old lady knees hold up.  I commit to at least one…more if possible.

20.  Take a ride in a hot air balloon

I’m terrified of heights, but the view from the sky must be breathtaking.

21. Watch the top movie of each year, from the past 27 years

I don’t even know what they are, but I think it should be fun.

22.  Spa Day

A complete day of pampering and no responsibility…here’s the kicker: without feeling guilty.

23.  Learn how to screen print

I’ve wanted to know how to do this forever.  Who wants a t-shirt??

24. Make check-up appointments with all my doctors 

Prevention is the best medicine…I say that at work all the time, yet don’t really live by those words.  I haven’t been ill in a very long time, but I haven’t taken the time to make my health a priority, either.  Good habits start early.  Step one: find doctors.

25.  Visit my great grandparents’ gravesite in Meeker, Oklahoma

Two of my favorite people when I look back on my childhood, and sadly, I haven’t been back since either of their memorial services.

26.  MOVE

I’m on the fence with this one.  Rent or buy.  Location.  Price.  There’s a lot to consider, but I would be ecstatic if I could get the heck outta here.

27.  Have a party to celebrate another awesome year and toast to #28

You’re invited.  Expect an invite in about 10 months or so.

 

See something you can help me with or want to be a part of?  I’m looking for golden buddies to help me mark things off my list :)  xoxoxL

4 Responses to “Drumroll, please…”

  1. Roxanne Foster said

    I’m in on helping with numbers…3,4, 5 (Greece is next on my list), 8, 10, 13, 14, 20, 21 (MOVIE DATE!), 22 and 26 (if you want help).
    GREAT List friend. I may gleam some ideas for my golden year list as well ;) I like your shooting a gun one, but I just made plans to do that tomorrow! Too bad it can’t be on my list!

  2. sgtboz said

    LF, this is just fantastic. Any one of us would do ourselves a favor to not only create a list like this (I have my own bucket list where the items are steadily being knocked off)but especially to share it publicly.

    No one better to help you with firing a gun than an has-been soldier. Noah and I would be glad to be your guides along with some other friends like Roxanne and John, if interested. We’ll even provide the ammo.

    Seriously, this list is fantastically awesome. As well, I’m glad to see it’s not entirely you-centered (art, money for a stranger, Bible-reading, cooking for others, etc). While you no doubt will get joy out of them you are using your gifts/talents/convictions to bring joy to others.

    Maybe the challenge for your future lists, and mine ever moreso, is to only add new things that have a “less for me and more for thee” mentality.

    You are a great writer. Keep it up.

  3. Aunt Dena said

    I can help with #1. My list includes learning Italian for a trip to Italy. Greece is next!! I can also help with #7 and #13. I could help with #18, but it sounds like you already have help on that one. I’m also up for the balloon ride, watching movies, and Meeker. Maybe we can fit in some stuff off my list, too!! lol

  4. Suzy said

    Lauren, you are amazing!! I know I’ve said that often, but I truly mean it .. I hope you know that! This is a fantastic list!! (and a VERY inspiring one as well.) I have no doubt that you will accomplish each and every one of these .. and do it all with a beautiful combination of grace and flair, as you do ALL things! <3 Much Love!

Leave a comment