Sum&Substance: January

February 1, 2011

I view the month of January as the equivalent of an entire month of “Monday”.  You see, at the beginning of the month, it seems like everyone is struggling to  combat the holiday hangover (like a long, crazy weekend)  and get back into a normal routine.  Midway through, things kick back into full gear without much transition and then it becomes a challenge just to keep up. 

Amiright??

Monday typically always sucks.  The degree of suckiness may fluctuate, but it’s never remotely close to being as good as a Friday.  Or even a Wednesday, I’d venture to say, which is sad because there’s really nothing Wednesday can brag about either… 

The January/Monday comparison is exactly how I feel looking back on my first Golden month.  It began while I was still on this wonderful, blissful high of little or no work.  I had spent extensive amounts of time doing whatever the heck I wanted, whenever the heck I wanted to do it.  I cleaned and re-organized, took extended trips to visit family, had cozy nights in watching movies, and had a lot of fun catching up with old friends and even meeting a few new ones.

But soon it was back to work and back to reality.  Not that I wasn’t looking forward to getting back to a normal routine, but it was a little bittersweet leaving “Holiday Lauren” behind.  However, as I was dreading the wrath of January, I blinked my eyes, and it was over.  Here’s the Golden wrap-up:

Accomplishments:  finally finalizing THE List <click to view>

January’s “new” restaurant review (#13.1):  Kamp’s 1910 Cafe

          What I ordered:  I’ve  forgotten the name of the salad I ordered, but it had chicken, pineapple, strawberries, and walnuts with a vinegerette.

It was supposed to be topped with dates,  but I skipped on those.  Neither of my friends could give me a straight answer as to what a date actually is.

Consensus:  I give it 2 out of 5 stars.  My meal tasted okay, but items on the menu were a little overpriced in my opinion.

However, I loved the company of my monthly lunch buddies, Emma and Candace, so it was worth every penny :)

 

January Share-a-Meal (#14.1+)

I cooked A LOT this month.  Unfortunately, I documented very little.  I could probably get some testimonies, though…  I’ll post links to the recipes for this month and then remember to take some pics in the coming months.

the Pioneer Woman’s Spicy Lemon Garlic Shrimp

This was probably my favorite recipe of the month.  She (the Pioneer Woman) just so happened to post it on my golden birthday, so it had to be good.  I only altered it by using shell-off raw shrimp instead of shell-on.

I served it over a bed of white rice, along with fresh green beans, and french bread. YUM.

I actually made this a couple of times, once for my parents and brother and then again for my friends Christy and Trey.

Delicious both times.  Do it. You won’t regret it.

 

Here are some other recipes I made and enjoyed:

PW’s Filet Au Poivre– altered a lot…I don’t enjoy Dijon mustard, and it was pretty overpowering.

PW’s Chicken Picatastrong lemon flavor, but good.  I served it over linguine, instead of angel hair pasta.

Sausage Stuffed Jalapenos- great finger food.  The disappeared pretty fast at game night.

Oreo truffles um, need I say more??

Enjoy!  Let me know if you try anything :)

 

January Art (#9.1)

Not yet complete…but it’s happening.  This month I’m actually completing a previous project I started a couple of years ago, at the request of a friend…who never took them.  I won’t name names, but you know who you are.  I’m more excited about getting rid of these canvases from under my bed, than anything else.  It’s a reproduction of the triptych here.

Here’s the state of the canvases at the moment:

If you’re interested let me know.  They’re pretty big, as you can see.

 

Thanks for sticking around through my first month of blogging.  And for all the extremely nice coments and feedback you all have left on Facebook and on my posts .  If ya like it enough (or can tolerate, rather) to read it regularly, go ahead and subscribe so you’re the among the first to read the latest greatest happenings :)

I have several list items in the works, so look for a few progress reports in February.

 

Today it’s all about Snowpocalypse 2011 in Oklahoma… friends, jammies, puzzle, movies, and eating.

It definitely warrants a post of its own.

Stay warm, dear friends.

xoxox/L

Leave a Reply

