These are a few of my favorite things.

February 9, 2011

Apparently in the world of blogging, you are supposed to try your best to blog daily. I can understand the advantages. I’m sure it strengthens one’s writing skills, which is a primary reason I started 27&Golden in the first place.

However, blogging every day is a challenge. It’s difficult sitting down for long enough, to write, proof, and publish a post with all the other things that are going on throughout the day and evening. The other challenge, for me, is overcoming the feeling of being too exposed. You can’t really write about life from anywhere but your “authentic self”. Therefore, the more I write, the more people see me.

As I think I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I am not one to offer much in the field of self disclosure. That is, with one exception- I am pretty much incapable of lying, so if I’m asked a question directly, I answer rather honestly.  I probably won’t elaborate until prodded, but it will be the truth, nonetheless.  It’s not uncommon for a bold acquaintance to know more about my personal life than a good friend.   Pretty backwards, huh?  I’m not proud of it.

But, see?? You know more, already.

…Unless you’re someone who already knew that about me.

Here’s another little tidbit of info:  I love making lists.  Like, an OCD kind of love. 

Grocery lists, to-dos, things to pack, people to call, chores to accomplish, songs to download….

And then, in a non-OCD fashion, I tend to “hide” them from myself.

In my attempt to start blogging more frequently (perhaps a post every-other-day?) I thought sprinkling a list in here and there might be a fun and simple way to fill in some gaps…

List-makin’ is not nearly as satisfying without pen and paper, but given this is a blog, I’ll try to overcome that OCD-ish quirk.  So, here it goes:

27 of My Favorite Things <as of now, my Golden Year>…

1. Double-tall vanilla lattes

Starbucks rules.  I could stop the list here and be happy because I really, really like coffee. Really.

2. Grey

New fave color. It’s a recent change. Green got bumped to #2. Grey is the new black…er, green.

3.  Fossil Brand Clothing

I’ve got this incredibly adorable dress that I’m dying to wear, but haven’t quite found the right time or occasion.

4. Banana Republic

I couldn’t leave out the ONLY place I can find jeans that fit, because let’s face it, jeans are a necessity in life.  Like, water.

5.  Cougar Town

You really shouldn’t judge this show by its crappy title.  Seriously, it’s so funny. SO funny.

Here’s a good clip:

Actually it’s just the least-offensive one I could find…

6.  Republic Gastropub

Regardless of getting food poisoning from here last weekend- I’ll leave it on the list.  I’m a loyal patron. But I probably won’t be capable of ordering the Rotisserie Chicken Salad ever again.  Or any other salad.  Ever.

7.  Kellogg’s Special K, with milk and  Quaker Oatmeal Squares, without

I’m not above having cereal for dinner.  Or any other meal, for that matter.

8.  Braum’s Dulce de Leche Ice Cream

I don’t have a huge sweet tooth, but as far as ice cream goes, this rocks my world.

9.  Breakfast!

French toast, eggs, bacon…the works.  Bonus points if it’s for dinner.

10.  Crest 3D Advanced White toothpaste

Why? Because my last favorite was discontinued, and it has to be whitening and a paste, not gel.  It’s called toothpaste, not toothgel.

11.  The Wheatfield by Katie Daisy at Etsy.com

My favorite shop changes nearly weekly the more I get to explore the site.  Exploring is the best part of Etsy. 

12.  Light Blue by Dolce and Gabana

Love it. But for an “everyday (more affordable) scent” I wear…

13. Japanese Cherry Blossom from Bath and Body Wx

Not to be confused with their plain Cherry Blossom scent. Totally different.

14.  http://ThingsWeForget.blogspot.com/

Cute new blog.  Makes me happy.

15.  Landslide by Stevie Nicks/Fleetwood Mac

It will always be my favorite amidst all my seasonal faves.

16.  Adele’s Rolling in the Deep

Current seasonal fave.

17.  Dark nail polish

I love nail polish, but it doesn’t love me.  It makes me really sad when it starts chipping 2 days later.

18.  Wine

Drinking good wine with good food, in good company is one of life’s most civilized pleasures. /M. Broadbent

19.  Moleskine notebooks

It’s the Trapper-Keeper of adulthood.  There’s planners, lined and unlined notebooks…and my new investment, a recipe book.  Very European.

20.  Sharpie Pens

Best when paired with Moleskine notebooks, but if you love to write in any way, shape, or form, try these.

They’ll change your life.

21.  Allrecipes.com

If you’ve asked me for a recipe in the past year, it’s probably been from here.  I sort by those that with the highest rating and then sort through the top ones with the ingredients I think sound the best.

22.  Anthropologie

There are no words.  But guess what.  They are unveiling their new bridal collection on 2.14.

Finally, a legitimate reason to have a wedding.  Kidding.  

23.  My bed.

Goose down mattress topper.  High thread count cotton sateen sheets.  Down-filled comforter.  Stacks of pillows.

It really is my favorite place.  So peaceful.

24.   Doves

As a symbol, what they represent, or the bird itself.  I’m drawn to them.

25.  Famous quotations

And un-famous ones too, I suppose.  I adore how one eloquent phrase can capture so much emotion.

Finding one on occasion that expresses what you’re feeling, when you thought there was no way to put it in words is one of the most reaffirming moments.

26.  1 Corinthians 13

I don’t think this is overused.  I actually think it is not used enough.  We hear it at just about every wedding ceremony, but love is not something that is only reserved for a spouse.  I read and repeat these verses nearly every day as a reminder and guide.  We are called to love every one, which is a challenge in so many ways, but these verses break it down into simple steps…at least I think so.

It’s also helpful to be able to recognize what real love looks like (or doesn’t look like) when it’s returned. 

27.  Babies!

There’s no shortage of these around- my friends are popping ’em out like crazy…

Speaking of which, welcome to the world Emma Claire Stearns!

The End.

 

Man, the theme of “27” kind of makes for long lists!

 

’til next time, friends.

xoxox/L

2 Responses to “These are a few of my favorite things.”

  1. Ninnyof3 said

    Okay, I love reading blogs and I followed your link from Facebook. Had the best time reading!!! If you had a “follow” button, I would click it right now. As it is, I’ll copy your url and paste it on my blog-hopping list of favorites. That way I can keep up with your updates.

    Liz (aka Ninny)

  2. Roxanne said

    1. I sincerely hope you didn’t just refer to me as the bold acquaintence… ;)
    2. I didn’t know you loved Adele. I just pre-ordered her CD and tickets for a concert in Dallas go on sale Friday!! Caleb and I are going!

Leave a Reply

