Voiceless. Literally, Not Figuratively.

February 19, 2011

Okay…so, the first thing you should know is that the above title is not entirely true.  I can speak, technically,  but my voice is much more akin to the Marlboro Man’s than my normal 27&golden-girl-self.  And to be sure we’re on the same page, I’m not talking about this Marlboro Man.  More like, a 50-something-year-old-gritty-cowboy-2 packs-a-day-smoker kind of guy. (If you didn’t just click that link, you really should.)

It’s not pretty.  I may even hack up a lung, so be careful not to get too close.

But, before you poke fun, you should know that my man-voice is accompanied by a fever.  So… pity me just a little before making me laugh, K? :)  Because laughing kind of hurts, too….

My fingers aren’t affected by this rather serious illness yet, so I better get to bloggin’.  It’s been quite a while…I must’ve totally jinxed myself when I wrote in my last post “maybe I’ll attempt to write every other day…”.  That was one very short-lived attempt.   Sometimes life just gets a little in the way of my plans ;)  So, while I’m scrambling around (like any true-blue procrastinator does) to accomplish my golden goals for this month, here is another little glimpse into the world of L.  Not that I presume that you’re uber-curious, but because this is one part of my life that I love to chat about.  My JOB.

It’s actually just a fraction of what I do…

 …but it just so happens to be one of the parts I like the best.

It’s all about car seats, you see… here’s 27 things I bet you didn’t know (but should!)

BTW- I promise the next post won’t be another list….

1.  Motor vehicle accidents are the leading cause of death for children. (and teens, too)

2.  Car seats keep kids safe…or are supposed to.  Stats show that up to 9 out of 10 are misused.

3.  The American Academy of Pediatrics and a lot of other very smart, important people want you to keep your child rear-facing as long as possible.

4.  This is why rear-facing is best: 

 

5.  Did you know you can test out seats in your vehicle to make sure they fit before you buy? Babies-R-Us is one place that will let you do this.

6.  Paying more money for a car seat does not mean your child is better protected.

7.  That little plastic clip is called a harness retainer clip.  It goes at the child’s armpit level, like this:

8.  There are 4 major steps to follow in regard to safe transportation for children.

9. Boosters are for big kids.  A five-point-harness is the safest way for your child to ride until he or she outgrows it.

10.  Prematurely moving a child into a booster seat can result in this in a crash:

11.  That strap on the back of the car seat is called a tether and hooks to an anchor in your vehicle.  It is designed to reduce forward head movement in a crash….movement=injury! (See #21)

12.  It’s Oklahoma law for children to ride in an appropriate child restraint until 6 years old, but for most kids this still isn’t quite long enough.

13.  Best practice for booster seat use is 8 years old and 4’9″!

14.  See #10 again. (Same injuries may occur).

15.  Air bags are not for children, especially babies. NEVER put a rear-facing seat in front of an air bag, here’s why:

 

16.  Riddle:  What turns a 20 lb human baby into a 400 lb baby elephant?

Answer: a 20MPH car crash.

Weight x Speed= the amount of restraining force required…smart guy named Newton came up with that.

17.  Did you know that you’re 4 times more likely to survive a crash if you wear your seat belt? (Ejection does not save lives, people)

 

How are you liking my soap box? Eh…? (I love babies, remember??)

You get a special prize if you’re still reading.

 

18.  And for you smarties out there who just thought, “eh, the airbag will save me”… they’re called “supplemental restraints” for a reason. :)

19.    There are different seatbelt systems.  Typically, simply buckling in a car seat is not going to be enough.  Something must “lock” it in place.

20.  Most vehicles have what’s called the LATCH system.  It stands for Lower Anchors and Tethers for CHildren.  You can choose to use this instead of a seat belt sometimes but be sure to follow the instructions.

21.  Speaking of instructions…your two BFFs when installing a car seat: your vehicle owner’s manual and the car seat manufacturers instructions.  If you’ve lost one, trust me, it’s on the internet somewhere. OBEY the manuals!

22.  Frontal collisions are the most common type of crash.

23.  Side impact collisions are the deadliest.

…It’s also why we like to keep kiddos in the center of the back seat, if possible.

24.  Infant seats are not made for SHOPPING CARTS!

25. Those fancy covers that may be super cute (and expensive) can void the safety of your car seat.

Car seats must meet lots of safety standards, including resistance to flamability…

(as a rule, if it didn’t come in the box, don’t use it!)

26.  Car seats expire, usually 6 years after they’re made.

27.  I am a CPSTI…a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician and Instructor….a fancy way of sayin’ I know some stuff about car seats (and continue to learn more every day!)

Ask me to help.  If I don’t know the answer to a question, I definitely know lots of other wonderful people who will!

Don’t forget to Buckle UP, friends! (Every single trip!)

…Because I love you.

And the babies.

xoxox/L

5 Responses to “Voiceless. Literally, Not Figuratively.”

  1. Roxanne Foster said

    You should probably mention how much you love your co-workers too…hint, hint.

  2. sgtboz said

    Right Roxanne. And her photographer, too. Sheesh.

  3. Roxanne Foster said

    Oh I see! Mike gets his request. RUDE ;)

Leave a Reply

