Travel Log 3 of 3: Leadville/Breckenridge/Keystone, Colorado

March 29, 2011

Ya know what makes me a happy camper?  Being in the mountains.

Each year, when I venture out to Colorado with my extended family for our annual trip to Leadville, I can’t help but feel like it’s kind of where I belong.  There’s definitely a side of me that would love to abandon everything and move to the mountains and wake up every morning to the beautiful landscape right outside my window.  I even love the snow.  Every last inch.  Plus, it would give me the perfect excuse to buy a 4-Runner, because that’s what people in Colorado drive (seriously, must be the most per capita)…well, 4-Runners and Suburus, but those are just not my style.

So, if I just disappear one day- you’ll know where to find me….I’ll be a barefoot hippie artist in Colorado.  I think I’ll probably be a barista in order to pay any bills I may have and for art supplies, of course.  :)

If you are looking for a good, cheap place to take a ski trip in Colorado- you really need to check out Ski Cooper.  Leadville is a very old, small mining town away from the big resorts, but still close enough to hop over to Copper Mtn, Keystone, Vail, or Loveland Pass anytime you want.  Who wants to come next year?

I wish I had some exciting stories from this trip, but I don’t.  I read two full books, spent some good quality time with my family, went night skiing (snowboarding, actually) for the first time and left as a popsicle….

And it was beautiful.

2 Responses to “Travel Log 3 of 3: Leadville/Breckenridge/Keystone, Colorado”

  1. sgtboz said

    Night skiing at Keystone? Frigid. But very awesome otherwise.

  2. Ninnyof3 said

    We did night skiing once and yes, it was one frozen wild ride down the mountain, but breath taking at the same time. I. will. never. do. that. again. I’ve decided that lying on the beach is more my style now.

Leave a Reply

